Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Point Dume

More Views

Point Dume

Katie Arnoldi

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product

$24.95


ISBN 13: 9781590203293
Trim Size: 5 3/8 x 8
Hardcover
Overlook
5/13/10

Product Description

Katie Arnoldi’s critically acclaimed debut novel Chemical Pink launched her onto the bestseller lists and so established itself into the public’s consciousness that its title was the answer to a Double Jeopardy question.

Two years ago Overlook published her sophomore effort, The Wentworths, a searing portrait of a wealthy Westside, Los Angeles, family. This too was a fixture on bestseller lists and earned her a wider audience.

With Point Dume she has produced her most remarkable novel to date—bringing to life subjects she knows well—the death of surf culture, human trafficking, the Mexican drug cartel, illegal pot farms on public lands, environmental devastation, and obsessive love.

A fast moving page-turner, with insights that Arnoldi has gleaned from years of on-the-ground research, this is a timely novel that seems timeless.




Praise for POINT DUME
“Part comedy of manners, part cautionary tale, Point Dume (named after the stunning coastal promontory in Malibu) tells the interlocking stories of disparate characters all bound by their connection to the land by the sea.” -- LA Times

"The prose style is spare and powerful and the pages turn effortlessly." –Publisher's Weekly


“The summer is fully and officially upon us and that means summer reading is here! In fiction, our local Point Dume still tops the list--a great read for beach or travel.” -- Malibu Times, #1 Bestseller

“Arnoldi knows how to make readers care about her protagonists. Her well-researched, well-written novel will appeal to fans of T.C. Boyle and Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers who mourn the destruction of the environment.” -- Library Journal

“Where Point Dume shines is in its ability to put a human face on these ripped-from-the-headlines circumstances …[Arnoldi] gives each of [her characters] a certain humanity, their stories a poignant urgency, that will draw readers in to this interdependent community and not let them go.” -- BookReporter.com

“The glimpses into illegal marijuana cultivation are fascinating” -- Sacramento News & Reviews

“A spritely-written novel with flesh and blood contemporary characters, Point Dume is Katie Arnoldi's latest comedy of manners. But it is also a clever commentary on the distortions and contradictions of U.S. economic, drug and immigration policies, current social mores and behaviors, and the hidden environmental consequences of our drug war programs. All this in an entertaining breezy, sexy, surf novel set in Malibu. How does she do it?!" -- John Evans, Owner DIESEL Books

"Point Dume is, in short, a combination of the best aspects of her earlier two books. It has the edge and grit and unconventional characters and unexpected scenes of Chemical Pink along with the refined craft and narrative chops exhibited in The Wentworths… The book is full of memorable characters, tight, lean prose, better sex scenes than most people seem to write these days and filled with some downright funny and harrowing scenes. It’s, in the best sense, a well-paced, well written page-turner. Check it out.” -- Rob Roberge Blog

“Point Dume boasts content that many will find interesting: the untimely death of surf culture and the desecration of the California coastal towns that fostered it, the inner workings of the Mexican drug cartel, and rampant adultery.” -- Portland Mercury

"If you crossed TC Boyle’s Tortilla Curtain with Kem Nunn’s surf noir trilogy novels and added breasts you would almost get this book, Point Dume…obsessive and damaged characters from dysfunctional families set in throbbing plots…If you’re looking for a summer read that doubles as a sexy page-turner, check out Point Dume.” -- BookBuffet.com


PRAISE FOR THE WRITING OF KATIE ARNOLDI

“It’s as if the Marquis de Sade got loose again with his funny bone banging at our front door.” – New York Post

“Arnoldi has penned one of the more compelling books of the season.” – USA Today

“Chemical Pink is a dazzling first novel—entirely original, dizzyingly controlled, all ice-cool momentum on the surface and all shock below.” – Joan Didion

“Surfer Katie Arnoldi takes the beach of the lit scene with Chemical Pink, a modern gothic comedy of obsession, in which a female bodybuilder submits to the twisted whims of a rich eccentric who wants to shape her future, literally.” – Vanity Fair

“Too funny, too sad, too true, and too short” – David Mamet

“Although people who read the book cannot imagine that such weirdness and fatal obsessions really exist, Arnoldi can prove (and produce others who confirm) that they do.” –Los Angeles Times


Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 
Download our catalogs
> Winter 2018
> Fall 2017
> Summer 2017
> Winter 2017
> Fall 2016
> Ardis 2015
> Drama 2015
> PG Wodehouse
> Summer 2016

    

Newsletter

Newsletter