Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Stonehenge Legacy

More Views

The Stonehenge Legacy

Sam Christer

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product

$25.95


ISBN 13: 978-1-59020-676-8
Trim Size: 6 x 9
hardcover
The Overlook Press
10/27/11

Product Description

Eight days before the summer solstice, a man is butchered in a blood-freezing sacrifice on the ancient site of Stonehenge before a congregation of robed worshipers. Within hours, one of the world's foremost treasure hunters has shot himself in his country mansion. And to his estranged son, young archaeologist Gideon Chase, he leaves a cryptic letter. Teaming up with an intrepid policewoman, Gideon soon exposes a secret society--an ancient international legion devoted for thousands of years to Stonehenge.

With a charismatic and ruthless new leader at the helm, the cult is now performing ritual human sacrifices in a terrifying bid to unlock the secret of the stones. Packed with codes, symbology, relentless suspense, and fascinating detail about the history of one of the world's most mysterious places, The Stonehenge Legacy is a blockbuster to rival the very best of Dan Brown.

Sam Christer was educated in England. His first job was as a messenger for a newspaper, and he has since worked as for several major television studios as a director, producer, host, and reporter. His award-winning documentaries have covered scientific discoveries, kidnapping cases, and murder prosecutions, among other topics. The Stonehenge Legacy is his first novel and has already been sold into 33 countries.

Praise for The Stonehenge Legacy:


"[A] self-assured first novel." -- The Wall Street Journal

"A non-stop delight of a read complete with history, secrets, conspiracies, and adventure. Christer matches wits and wiles, holding you in a tight grip from page 1 to the end. Fiercely intelligent and curious, take a walk on the perilous side and enjoy The Stonehenge Legacy." --Steve Berry, author of The Amber Room


"The Stonehenge Legacy is a creepily compelling tale that deftly mixes the near-Satanic activities of an ages-old pre-Christian cult with an entirely modern kidnap plot. The relentless action pits the forces of law and order and their high-tech devices and equipment against the cunning and utterly compassionless members of the ancient order, for whom ritual – and especially blood sacrifice – is more important than anything, including human life. The action rapidly gathers pace as the police are forced to face both high-level corruption within their own ranks and the inexorable approach of the Summer Solstice at the prehistoric site of Stonehenge, a solstice which will be marked by a frenzy of blood-letting. This book brings together the ancient truths and theories about the construction and purpose of Stonehenge, and the author has then constructed an entirely modern story which he has cleverly woven around the legends of the ancient stones. The story ranges from the bright daylight of summer in the heart of England to the dank and claustrophobic depths of an aeons-old underground sanctuary, where you can almost feel the cold weight of the old stones pressing down on you. This is one of those very rare books that is capable of both thrilling and chilling the reader." --James Becker, author of The Moses Stone


"Long-buried secrets, a dangerous cult, and lots of twists and turns.  Sure to appeal to fans of Steve Berry and Dan Brown!" --C.S. Graham, author of The Archangel Project

"Christer does a nice job integrating secret diaries, codes, hooded monks, and historical detail into the abduction plot." --Publishers Weekly

"There's a shadowy cult with religious overtones run by powerful men, human sacrifices, and a race against time as the summer solstice approaches. But it all fits in beautifully with the still-unravels mysteries of Stonehenge. Amid the dark elements that dominate this chronicle, Christer paints exquisite word pictures of Stonehenge's rural landscape." --ForeWord ForeSight Mystery

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 
Download our catalogs
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Winter 2017
Summer 2016
Fall 2016
Ardis 2015
Drama 2015
PG Wodehouse

    

Newsletter

Newsletter