Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Betrayal of Trust

More Views

The Betrayal of Trust

Susan Hill

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product

$25.95


ISBN 13: 978-1-59020-280-7
Trim Size: 6 x 9
Hardcover
Overlook
11/10/2011

Product Description

Susan Hill's readers met the enigmatic and brooding Simon Serrailler in The Various Haunts of Men and got to know him better in the four mysteries that followed. In The Betrayal of Trust, she has written the most chilling and unputdownable book yet. Freak weather and flash floods have hit southern England. The small cathedral town of Lafferton is underwater, and a landslip on the moor has closed the roads. As the rain slowly drains away, a shallow grave––and a skeleton––are exposed; twenty years on, the remains of missing teenager Joanne Lowther have finally been uncovered. The case is reopened and Simon Serrailler is called in as Senior Investigating Officer. Joanne, an only child, had been on her way home from a friend's house that night. She was the daughter of a prominent local businessman, and her mother had killed herself two years after she disappeared, unable to cope. Cold cases are always tough, and in this latest mystery in the acclaimed series from Susan Hill, Simon Serrailler is forced to confront his most grisly, dangerous, and complex case yet.

Praise for Susan Hill

If you like your crime fiction with strong overtones of serious literature, look no further than Hill . . . Some suspense novels are demonstrably character-driven and some are plot-driven, while others are atmospheric and haunting. Hill manages to combine all of those elements seamlessly, not favoring one over the other, all the while imbuing her narrative with a social conscience rarely displayed in genre fiction . . . As I wrote of Hill in a review of The Various Haunts of Men (2007): 'Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell can rest easy, knowing that those authors' tradition of fine storytelling will move forward at least one more generation.' I stand by that 100 percent." -- Bookpage (November 2011), Top Pick in Mystery

"Compelling…Fans and newcomers to Hill's series (The Vows of Silence, 2009, etc.) will appreciate the characters' deep humanity." -- Kirkus



"The updated plotlines of the cathedral town's residents will be part of the fun attached to watching Serrailler and his crew solve the two mysteries…this series has many devotees, who find in the enigmatic Serrailler the same appealing mix of intelligence and sensitivity that characterizes P. D. James' Adam Dalgliesh." -- Booklist

Washington Post

“Hill knows how to keep those pages turning.” -Chicago Sun-Times

“Not all great novelists can write crime fiction, but when one like Susan Hill does it, the result is stunning.” --Ruth Rendell

“Thoughtful mysteries…elegant prose.” --The New York Times Book Review

“Eagerly awaited by all aficionados of crime fiction.” --P.D. James



Susan Hill is the author of over forty books, including six Chief Superintendent Simon Serrailler crime novels. She runs her own small publishing firm, Long Barn Books. Visit susan-hill.com.

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 
Download our catalogs
> Winter 2018
> Fall 2017
> Summer 2017
> Winter 2017
> Fall 2016
> Ardis 2015
> Drama 2015
> PG Wodehouse
> Summer 2016

    

Newsletter

Newsletter