Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Faces Under Water

More Views

Faces Under Water

Tanith Lee

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product


ISBN 13: 978-1-58567-245-5
Trim Size:

Product Description

Amidst the timeless beauty of Venice comes a chilling new fantasy series of alchemy and horror from the world-renowned author of The Secret Books of Paradys

The Secret Books of Venus series-each book woven around the alchemical elements of water, fire, earth, and air-begins with Faces Under Water, in which Tanith Lee immerses her readers in ancient Venetian canals and the secret terror that lies beneath. Lee's characters are immediately plunged into a fantastical world of sorcery where horror and beauty mingle under breathless spells of enchantment and desire.

In the hedonistic atmosphere of an eighteenth-century Venice Carnival, gaiety turns deadly when Furian Furiano happens upon a mask of Apollo floating in the murky waters of the canals. The mask hides a sinister art, and Furian finds himself trapped in a bizarre tangle of love, obsession, and evil, stumbling upon a macabre society of murderers. The beautiful but elusive Eurydiche holds the key to these murders and leads him further into a labyrinth of black magic and ancient alchemy. Why do secrets from Furian's past seem tied to the mysterious Eurydiche In Tanith Lee's brilliantly imagined world of violence and terror, Furian must find a way to survive and stem the obsession driving him towards his hidden destiny.

Tanith Lee is one of the leading fantasy authors working today. She has written over 50 novels and short story collections, among them the best-selling Flat Earth Series. She is also the author of another Overlook fantasy series, The Secret Books of Paradys. She has won the World Fantasy Award numerous times as well as the August Derleth Award.

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
Download our catalogs
Fall 2018
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
PG Wodehouse