Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Death Puppet

More Views

Death Puppet

Jim Nisbet

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product

$15.95


ISBN 13: 978-1-59020-197-8
Trim Size: 5 3/8 x 8
Paperback
Overlook
07/01/2014

Product Description

Smart, bored, attractive and single, Mattie Brooke is a not quite over-the-hill waitress in the tiny town of Dip, Washington. She’s lived all but one year of her life in Dip, and not much of what goes on there escapes her eye. But then, not much of what goes on in Dip is worth noticing. That is, until a traveling salesman named Tucker Harris drifts into town. Mattie cuts out on her steady guy just long enough for this stranger to introduce her to his bizarre brand of safe sex, and after Tucker splits, Mattie figures to go on with her life the same as before. What begins as sassy complicity in a capricious tryst triggers a subtle and vertiginous slide into hell, with no stops for beer or introspection. Mattie suffers the horrible revelation that there will be no savior capable of rescuing her sanity—let alone her life.


Praise for the work of Jim Nisbet:

"In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss." —San Francisco Chronicle

"Jim Nisbet has a voice so original…it might remind you of a younger Kurt Vonnegut." —Chicago Tribune



Jim Nisbet is the author of twelve novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, shortlisted for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. He lives in San Francisco, California.

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 
Download our catalogs
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Winter 2017
Summer 2016
Fall 2016
Ardis 2015
Drama 2015
PG Wodehouse

    

Newsletter

Newsletter