Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Titus Awakes

More Views

Titus Awakes

Maeve Gilmore, based on a Fragment by Mervyn Peake

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product


ISBN 13: 9781590204283
Trim Size: 5 3/8 x 8

Product Description

Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast trilogy is widely acknowledged to be, as Robertson Davies pronounced, “a classic of our age.” In these extraordinary novels, Peake created a world where all is like a dream--lush, fantastical, and vivid. Yet it was incomplete. Parkinson’s disease took Peake’s life in 1968, depriving his fans of the fourth and final volume of the series, Titus Awakes except for a few tantalizing pages, after which his writing became indecipherable.

Maeve Gilmore, Peake’s wife, finished the novel, and now at last the fabled Titus Awakes is published in its entirety. Fans of Peake will delight in this new, wonderful tale, published one hundred years after Peake’s birth, every bit as thrilling and masterfully written as his famed trilogy.

< "Gilmore finishes her husband's lush, fantastical Gormenghast series, drawing on the pages Peake left behind with his death in 1968." --LA Times

"A moving conclusion to a grand saga . . . The most distinctive feature of the Gormenghast books is the playful exuberance with which they recount the scenes of horror and madness . . . The grotesque characters and ghastly scenes that fill the Gormenghast books do not emerge, half-formed and darkly menacing, from the depths of the unconscious mind. They are creations of wit . . . Nothing is more characteristic of Peake's genius than the perfect command he exercises over the world that he invented." --New Statesman (UK)

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
Download our catalogs
Winter 2019
Fall 2018
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
PG Wodehouse