Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Windward Passage

More Views

Windward Passage

Jim Nisbet

Be the first to review this product

$25.95
Add Items to Cart
OR


ISBN 13: 978-1-59020-194-7
Trim Size: 6 x 9
Hardcover
Overlook
4/1/2010

Product Description

Winner of San Francisco Book Festival's Best Sci Fi Book!

From the writer whose work has been called "truly, hellishly gritty" (Los Angeles Times) comes a gnarled mystery with shades of Philip K. Dick and James Ellroy.

Jim Nisbet is a cult favorite in Europe and it's easy to see why. He's "a lot more than just good . . . his style has overtones of Walker Percy's smooth southern satin, but his characters--losers, grifters, con men--hark back to the days of James M. Cain's twisted images of morality," writes the Toronto Globe-Mail. In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Jim Nisbet is too good to miss and Windward Passage is a masterpiece that raises the bar even for a master like Nisbet.

In the parallel near-future, a ship named for a jellyfish sinks into the Caribbean with its captain chained to the mast. Left behind is a logbook missing ten pages, presidential DNA hidden in a brick of smuggled cocaine, and a nearly- completed novel. Tipsy, the dead sailor's sister, and Red Means, his erstwhile employer, travel from San Francisco to the Caribbean and back as they attempt to unravel a mystery that rapidly widens from death at sea to international conspiracy.

With verve and humor to match the Illuminati Trilogy, Nisbet has fashioned an engaging facsimile of our modern world, albeit with snappier dialogue, amped-up technology, and even more clearly stated political prejudices. "Neither Norman Mailer nor Truman Capote has in their writing been able to produce such an intensity as Nisbet has achieved," writes Germany's Die Welt. Pick up Windward Passageand see why.

Praise for Windward Passage


"Jim Nisbet -- whose pen is mightier than a million swords -- does it again with Windward Passage. This is a book that should not be missed." -Michael Connelly

“Jim Nisbet is a cult favorite in Europe and it's easy to see why. In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss and Windward Passage is a masterpiece that raises the bar even for such a master storyteller.” – San Francisco Chronicle

"Sure, Nisbet breaks all the rules, but that's really the whole point. His novels are the literary equivalent of road trips, and a good road trip follows no map." -Booklist

“Nisbet pushes the boundaries of fiction with brave experimental forays…Fans of Nisbet’s previous work will find this a welcome addition to an already impressive collection of gritty and adventurous work.” -- ForeWord Reviews

“This is a gripping conspiracy thriller…Fast-paced throughout…Timely yet eerie in many ways, fans will enjoy this strange but exhilarating tale as political bias trumps over logic, fairness and common good in Jim Nisbet's strong suspense.” –Harriet Klausner, Midwest Book Review


"Jim Nisbet's power of suggestion . . . seduces the imagination without churning the stomach."-Wichita Times-Record


"Nisbet's prose drives and sparkles as it takes the reader into a world without morality or ethics."-San Antonio Express-News

Timely yet eerie in many ways, fans will enjoy this strange but exhilarating tale as political bias trumps over logic, fairness and common good in Jim Nisbet’s strong suspense.” – The Mystery Gazette

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 

Recently Viewed Products

  1. 20th Century Architecture

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Download our Winter 2013 catalogs
> Hard Cover
> Paperback
> Young Readers

    

Newsletter

Newsletter