Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Point Dume (Paperback)

More Views

Point Dume (Paperback)

Be the first to review this product

Available

$15.00
Add Items to Cart
OR


ISBN 13: 9781590206430
Trim Size: 5 3/8 x 8"
Paperback
Overlook
5/03/11

Product Description

This novel gives a fascinating glimpse into the dark side of Malibu. With Point Dume, Katie Arnoldi has produced her most remarkable novel yet, bringing to life subjects she knows well: the death of surf culture, human trafficking, Mexican drug cartels, illegal pot farms on public lands, environmental devastation, and obsessive love. A rare page-turner of intelligent, breezy summer reading, with insights that Arnoldi has gleaned from years of on-the-ground research, this is an unforgettable novel that is both timely and timeless.



Katie Aronldi’s debut Chemical Pink, set in the competitive world of female bodybuilding, became a surprise bestseller, winning Arnoldi praise from critics and readers alike. Her second novel, The Wentworths, also graced bestseller lists. She lives in Venice, California.



“Part comedy of manners, part cautionary tale, Point Dume (named after the stunning coastal promontory in Malibu) tells the interlocking stories of disparate characters all bound by their connection to the land by the sea.”--LA Times

“The prose style is spare and powerful and the pages turn effortlessly.”--Publishers Weekly

“A great read for beach or travel.”--Malibu Times, #1 Bestseller

“Gritty and hard-hitting with some well-placed social commentary.”--OC Metro

“Arnoldi knows how to make readers care about her protagonists. Her well-researched, well-written novel will appeal to fans of T.C. Boyle and Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers who mourn the destruction of the environment.”--Library Journal

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Download our Winter 2013 catalogs
> Hard Cover
> Paperback
> Young Readers

  

Newsletter

Newsletter