Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Republic of Vengeance

The Republic of Vengeance

Paul Waters

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product

$25.95


ISBN 13: 978-1-59020-142-8
Trim Size: 6 x 9
Cloth
Overlook
1/8/2008

Product Description

A consuming story of love, loss, and redemption set in the classical world of Rome and Greece, The Republic of Vengeance is the story of a young man's pursuit of his father's murderer and of the values and qualities he develops that will make him a man-a man capable of a deep, noble, and enduring love.

At the end of the third century BC, as Republican Rome's long war with Carthage in Africa draws to a close, a new danger is arising in the East. The ruthless and ambitious King of Macedon, Philip the Fifth, is moving against the independent city-states of Greece and threatening Rome itself.

Against this background, Marcus, a young Roman, embarks on a journey from Italy to Corfu with his father. Pirates, led by the wild corsair Dikaiarchos, ambush the ship and Marcus's father sacrifices his own life in order to save his son. Marcus vows to avenge his father's death, setting him on a voyage of spiritual and emotional growth that will forge his character. He becomes the confidant of generals and politicians, and is cast into the midst of the rising conflict, traveling among the cities of Greece and Italy during a time of political turmoil and cultural upheaval. It is a journey that will bring him at last to his unexpected destiny.

In the tradition of Mary Renault, Stephen Pressfield, and Robert Graves, The Republic of Vengeance is a remarkable, beautifully written novel of love, loss, and redemption. More than a historical adventure, it explores timeless questions of freedom, right, and duty.

Praise for The Republic of Vengeance:
"With its restrained, elegant and poetic tone, The Republic of Vengeance brings to mind Mary Renault. The ancient world has a new and insightful spokesman in Paul Waters."--Margaret George, bestselling author of The Memoirs of Cleopatra and The Autobiography of Henry VIII

"Naomi Mitchison, Mary Renault, Rosemary Sutclif, William Golding, and classicist Paul Waters deserve to be mentioned in the same breath. Altogether a most powerful and promising debut."--Paul Cartledge, author of Thermopylae

"I've waited ages for something this good to come along, and this debut instantly brings to mind one name--Mary Renault."--Sue Baker, Publishing News

"A masterpiece that deserves to become one of the classics of historical fiction."--Manda Scott, bestselling author of the Boudica series

About the author
Paul Waters was born and schooled in England, but says his real education did not begin until he was seventeen, when he ran away to sea and spent two years traveling the world on a tramp steamer. It was during this time, somewhere in the Indian Ocean, that he picked up a copy of Herodotus, and began a love affair with the classical world of Greece and Rome. Later he returned to England and studied Classics at University College London. Since then he has lived and worked in France, Greece, America and southern Africa. He now lives in Cambridge, England.

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 
Download our catalogs
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Winter 2017
Summer 2016
Fall 2016
Ardis 2015
Drama 2015
PG Wodehouse

    

Newsletter

Newsletter