Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Republic of Vengeance (Paperback)

More Views

The Republic of Vengeance (Paperback)

Paul Waters

Available at:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

Be the first to review this product

$16.00


ISBN 13: 9781590204740
Trim Size: 5 3/8 x 8
Paperback
Overlook
7/26/11

Product Description

A consuming story of love, loss, and redemption set in the classical world of Rome and Greece, The Republic of Vengeance is the story of a young man’s pursuit of his father’s murderer and of the values and qualities he develops that will make him a man-a man capable of a deep, noble, and enduring love.

At the end of the third century BC, as Republican Rome’s long war with Carthage in Africa draws to a close, a new danger is arising in the East. The ruthless and ambitious King of Macedon, Philip the Fifth, is moving against the independent city-states of Greece and threatening Rome itself.

In the tradition of Mary Renault, Stephen Pressfield, and Robert Graves, The Republic of Vengeance is a remarkable, beautifully written novel of love, loss, and redemption. More than a historical adventure, it explores timeless questions of freedom, right, and duty.



PAUL WATERS is a well-traveled Classicist, and though educated in Britain, he has lived much of his life abroad—in Africa, America, and Greece, among other places. He now writes full time.



“Mary Renault, Rosemary Sutcliff, William Golding, and classicist Paul Waters deserve to be mentioned in the same breath.” —Paul Cartledge, author of Thermopylae

“This engrossing and beautifully written first novel will catapult Paul Waters into the ranks of such well-known writers of the classical world as Mary Renault, Steven Pressfield, and Michael Curtis Ford.”--Library Journal (Starred Review)

Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 
Download our catalogs
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Winter 2017
Summer 2016
Fall 2016
Ardis 2015
Drama 2015
PG Wodehouse

    

Newsletter

Newsletter