Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Daughter of Providence

More Views

Daughter of Providence

Julie Drew

Be the first to review this product

Available

$24.95
Add Items to Cart
OR


ISBN 13: 9781590204627
Trim Size: 6 x 9
Hardcover
Overlook
8/04/11

Product Description

Summer, 1934: Anne Dodge was raised by her old-money, New England Protestant father in the small coastal town of Warwick, Rhode Island. She has always been told that her Portuguese mother abandoned them when Anne was a small child, and died without ever contacting them again. After her mother’s death, Anne learns that she has a half-sister, Maria Cristina, who was raised among Portuguese immigrants--and when Maria Christina comes ugly truths begin to surface about what really happened between her parents, catalyzing events that end in loss and rediscovery.

Within the context of New Deal labor strikes and union busting, a hint of desperation pervades the town after five years of economic depression, and a dwindling white, pioneer-stock majority faces immigration that is inevitably changing the order of their world. Daughter of Providence is a beautifully written and moving debut novel by an important new voice in American fiction.



JULIE DREW is Associate Professor of English at the University of Akron. She teaches writing, film, and cultural studies. Daughter of Providence is her first novel. She lives in Akron, Ohio.

Praise for Daughter of Providence:

"Drew's storytelling is compelling" --Cleveland Plain Dealer

"Haunting, mesmerizing debut . . . This atmospheric and compelling historical tale will surely sweep the reader into the past as Drew's word artistry paints a perfect poignant portrait of a bygone era." --Library Journal (Starred Review)

"Promising debut . . . Strong atmosphere" --Publishers Weekly

"Set in a decaying industrial town during the Great Depression, Daughter of Providence is an engrossing story of discovery, tragedy and redemption.  Julie Drew is not just a skilled storyteller.  She's an historian who creates a rich background of a city in the throes of unionism, class breakdown, and social and sexual upheaval. This is a book that stays with you." --Sandra Dallas, New York Times best-selling author of The Bride's House

"In real life, binding societal expectations take over the show. ‘Success' is first class, and the heart is second class. In this moving tale, Daughter of Providence , we get to see the first class price tag is paid with those hearts." --Carolyn Chute, author of The Beans of Egypt, Maine

"First novelist Drew draws a careful portrait of both social and family problems." --Kirkus

"With a dead body in the opening pages, the upward sweep of a family drama, and assured, lyrical prose, Julie Drew leads us deep into a time and place -- Depression-era New England -- and takes us through an unforgettable summer of loss and understanding. The story is brisk and compelling, channeled through Drew's magnetic protagonist, 24-year-old Anne Dodge, a charming, confident focal point for this exceptional debut novel." --David Giffels, author of All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-down House

"A sweeping drama . . . Drew perfectly captures the old New England feel of her shore-town setting and lavishes attention on the period details that transport readers back to the 1930s. Anne Dodge is a richly drawn protagonist, caught in the conflicting responsibilities of early adulthood, and the secondary characters who populate the close-knit community give the novel further complexity. Fans of Tara Hyland and Elizabeth Bard will love this poignant  page-turner that portrays the delicate intersections of loss, love, loyalty, betrayal, family, and identity." --Booklist

"Terrific debut novel . . . A great summer read." --Akron Beacon Journal

"This beautifully written novel rich with descriptive scenes of New England and well-drawn characters who illustrate the clash of culture at the height of the labor movement . . . Like the hot summer in which it takes place, the story begins in a deliciously languid manner, allowing the reader to get to know each character and his or her back story. But then, as summer turns to hurricane season, the narrative becomes stormy and unpredictable. At this point I could not put the book down . . . Highly recommended." --Historical Novels Review (Editor's Choice)


Product Tags

Add Your Tags:
Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.
 

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Download our Winter 2013 catalogs
> Hard Cover
> Paperback
> Young Readers

  

Newsletter

Newsletter