Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Shop by

Currently Shopping by

  1. Remove This Item Price: $20.00 - $30.00

Shopping Options

Category
  1. business (1)
  2. cooking (1)
  3. current affairs (2)
  4. fashion (1)
  5. music (1)
  6. pop culture (2)
  7. social science (2)
  8. sociology (1)
  9. sports (1)
  10. travel (1)
 

categories

10 Item(s) Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Descending Direction
Asian Waters
$29.95
The first book to comprehensively break down the politics and tensions among the countries of the western Pacific, by a foreign correspondent who has witnessed it firsthand Learn More

| Add to Compare

Business for Bohemians
$22.95
The 4-Hour Work Week meets Monty Python―the ultimate, entertaining handbook for controlling your work destiny and enjoying yourself along the way Learn More

| Add to Compare

David Bowie Black Book
$27.95
Art-directed by acclaimed graphic designer Pierce Marchbank and with text written by former NME journalist and cultural commentator Barry Miles, the David Bowie Black Book contains photographs from every era of Bowie’s genre-defining career and was for many years the world’s bestselling Bowie book. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Devil and the River
$26.95
Intense, gripping, and hauntingly atmospheric, The Devil and the River is a stunning thriller of a sleepy southern town with more than one secret to hide. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Fermented Man
$28.95
Fermentation is all the rage in health and fitness circles, but can a person live for one year on nothing but fermented foods? One brave homebrewer tries to find out.

On January 1, 2014, homebrewer and writer Derek Dellinger began a journey that would change nearly everything he thought he knew about fermented food and beverage—and as a beer expert, he knew a lot. For an entire year, Dellinger would eat or drink only products that had been created by microbes. Exploring the vast world of fermentation, Dellinger became the living embodiment of its cultural and nutritional power—he became the Fermented Man.

In this entertaining and informative narrative, Dellinger catalogs his year spent on this unorthodox diet, revealing insights about the science of fermentation, as well as its cultural history, culinary value, and nutritional impact along the way. He goes beyond yogurt and sauerkraut to show us how fermentation occurs in a wide range of foods we might never have expected, and is at the root of many unique delicacies around the world. From foraging for living bacteria in the modern American grocery store, to sampling mucousy green Century Eggs in Chinatown, to an epic winter quest to Iceland for rotten shark meat, Dellinger investigates a realm of forgotten foods that is endlessly complex and surprisingly flavorful. And despite our collective aversion to bacteria, Dellinger’s experience and research reveals that it is these same microbes that may hold the key to our health and diets.

With bonus recipes for readers who are eager to get off the page and into the kitchen, The Fermented Man is an adventure story, culinary history, and science project all in one.


Praise for The Fermented Man

“In this tell-all food memoir, Dellinger recounts the highs and lows of the experiment, delves into the science and history of fermentation, and examines its culinary value and nutritional impact. With an engaging writing style and keen sense of humor, he jumps into Michael Pollan food territory with a Hemingwayesque sense of personal adventure” - Chronogram

“Dellinger brings his bubbling ferments to the page, helping to propel American food culture into a more delightful and nutritious future. Through his eyes and gut we get a unique invitation to taste a surprising array of foods as alive as our own bodies. Do not be disconcerted. Let this delicious state of affairs expand your mind—and what you eat.” - David Montgomery and Anne Biklé, authors of The Hidden Half of Nature

“Do not think that Derek Dellinger's fifty-two weeks eating only fermented food translated into a year of deprivation, a year of sauerkraut and yogurt; cheese, pastrami, salami, corned beef, prosciutto, gravlaks, sourdough bread, cultured butter, and of course beer, wine, and kombucha are all fermented foods, so his task was fun, doable—and healthy! And since true fermented foods are mostly produced by artisans, the move back to healthy food and interesting flavors will naturally favor small local production over factory-produced food-like substances. A very enjoyable read for those on the real food journey.” - Sally Fallon Morell, President, The Weston A. Price Foundation

“Derek Dellinger has crafted a personal tale that is much in keeping with what we are as humans. Fermented foods and beverages have been fundamental to the human condition since we first appeared in the Paleolithic period on the planet, and have much to do with what we are today, physically and culturally.” - Patrick E. McGovern, author of Uncorking the Past and Ancient Wine

“Dellinger ably explains the wide range of fermented foods, the role flavor plays, health benefits, and the basic processes, and he includes a few recipes. The author hopes his intriguing experiments will open eyes and palates to the culinary and health benefits of fermented foods.” - Kirkus



Derek Dellinger is a writer, brewer, and fermentation enthusiast based in the Hudson Valley. He is the brewmaster at Kent Falls Brewing Company, the first farmhouse brewery in the state of Connecticut (and undoubtedly the only brewery in the area spontaneously fermenting beers outside of a barn in an old milk chiller). Derek also writes about homebrewing, fermentation, food, and beer for a number of publications, including his blog, www.bear-flavored.com.
Learn More

| Add to Compare

I Believe That We Will Win
$27.95
By the author of The United States of Soccer, the thorough, inspiring analysis of the history and future of the U.S. Men’s National Team Learn More

| Add to Compare

One Kiss or Two?
$25.95
You can order coffee in six languages, but how do you fare when it comes to the nebulous practice of greeting?
Learn More

| Add to Compare

Our Woman in Havana
$29.95
A longtime insider’s unprecedented look behind the “Sugar Curtain” during America’s long standoff with communist Cuba, by “one of this generation’s finest diplomats” (Ambassador Joseph Wilson)
Learn More

| Add to Compare

Selfie
$29.95
By the author of The Unpersuadables, this thrilling and ambitious book explores the mysterious power of the self and reveals the danger of our modern obsession with it. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Spirit Photographer
$26.95
For fans of Cold Mountain and The Alienist, the stunning debut novel of historical suspense about a charismatic conman haunted―perhaps literally―by a ghost from his past Learn More

| Add to Compare

10 Item(s) Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Descending Direction
 
Download our catalogs
Summer 2018
Winter 2018
Fall 2017
Summer 2017
Winter 2017
Summer 2016
Fall 2016
Ardis 2015
Drama 2015
PG Wodehouse

    

Newsletter

Newsletter