Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

 

Search results for 'jim nisbet'

10 Item(s) Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Descending Direction
Windward Passage
$25.95
From the writer whose work has been called "truly, hellishly gritty" (Los Angeles Times) comes a gnarled mystery with shades of Philip K. Dick and James Ellroy Learn More

| Add to Compare

Lethal Injection
$12.95
The gritty noir cult classic is now back in print—and the first of nine Nisbet books from Overlook! Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Damned Don't Die
$14.95
Overlook continues it reissues of the incomparable Jim Nisbit’s oeuvre with The Damned Don’t Die. Learn More

| Add to Compare

Dark Companion (Paperback)
$13.95
Overlook continues its reissues of the incomparable Jim Nisbet’s oeuvre with Dark Companion. Nisbet, the acclaimed noir writer from San Francisco captures the absurdities of present-day America with a rare pungency in this noir gem.


Banerjhee Rolf, a bright, levelheaded Indian-American scientist, is content to spend his days with his wife, tending his garden and studying his beloved astronomy. When Rolf ’s relationship with his seedy, drug-dealing neighbor, Toby Pride, and Pride’s stoner girlfriend takes a weird turn, Rolf’s placid world is shattered and he becomes a fugitive from justice. Crime, cosmology, politics, philosophy, physics and more enter into this cautionary tale, which climaxes with the suddenness of a cobra strike and then delivers a denouement that’s both stunning and absolutely perfect.
Learn More

| Add to Compare

Old and Cold
$13.95
The new noir tour de force by the riveting Jim Nisbet. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Spider's Cage
$15.95
A brilliantly noir mystery from the author of Lethal Injection, never before published in English. Learn More

| Add to Compare

Prelude to a Scream
$16.95
The cult classic noir mystery by the author of Lethal Injection and Old and Cold, finally available again Learn More

| Add to Compare

Octopus on My Head
$15.95
Resigning himself to the doldrums of middle age, the only thing Curly Watkins has left of his former life as a punk rocker is a guitar and a tattoo of an octopus on his head. But his quiet new life quickly evaporates when old vices come back to haunt him, leading to a newfound hell of drugs, drink, and murder. Learn More

| Add to Compare

Death Puppet
$15.95
Smart, bored, attractive and single, Mattie Brooke is a not quite over-the-hill waitress in the tiny town of Dip, Washington. She’s lived all but one year of her life in Dip, and not much of what goes on there escapes her eye. But then, not much of what goes on in Dip is worth noticing. That is, until a traveling salesman named Tucker Harris drifts into town. Mattie cuts out on her steady guy just long enough for this stranger to introduce her to his bizarre brand of safe sex, and after Tucker splits, Mattie figures to go on with her life the same as before. What begins as sassy complicity in a capricious tryst triggers a subtle and vertiginous slide into hell, with no stops for beer or introspection. Mattie suffers the horrible revelation that there will be no savior capable of rescuing her sanity—let alone her life.


Praise for the work of Jim Nisbet:

"In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss." —San Francisco Chronicle

"Jim Nisbet has a voice so original…it might remind you of a younger Kurt Vonnegut." —Chicago Tribune



Jim Nisbet is the author of twelve novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, shortlisted for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. He lives in San Francisco, California. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Price of the Ticket
$16.95
Pauley’s done a few bad things in his life. He’s been around the block quite a few times, spending most of his life inside the block. But now, age 52, he’s got an honest job making high-class torture racks and other exquisite playthings for an S&M outfit in downtown San Francisco. His only real problem is he needs a new set of wheels and he’s going to pick one up today, a beat up Ford from one Martin Seam. Sometimes a ticket to Hell only costs $600 . . . nonrefundable, of course.


Jim Nisbet is the author of twelve novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, shortlisted for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. He lives in San Francisco, California. Learn More

| Add to Compare

10 Item(s) Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Descending Direction