Overlook Press

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

 

Search results for '978-1-59020-237-1'

Items 1 to 10 of 380 total Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
Death Puppet
$15.95
Coming Soon
Smart, bored, attractive and single, Mattie Brooke is a not quite over-the-hill waitress in the tiny town of Dip, Washington. She’s lived all but one year of her life in Dip, and not much of what goes on there escapes her eye. But then, not much of what goes on in Dip is worth noticing. That is, until a traveling salesman named Tucker Harris drifts into town. Mattie cuts out on her steady guy just long enough for this stranger to introduce her to his bizarre brand of safe sex, and after Tucker splits, Mattie figures to go on with her life the same as before. What begins as sassy complicity in a capricious tryst triggers a subtle and vertiginous slide into hell, with no stops for beer or introspection. Mattie suffers the horrible revelation that there will be no savior capable of rescuing her sanity—let alone her life.


Praise for the work of Jim Nisbet:

"In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss." —San Francisco Chronicle

"Jim Nisbet has a voice so original…it might remind you of a younger Kurt Vonnegut." —Chicago Tribune



Jim Nisbet is the author of twelve novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, shortlisted for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. He lives in San Francisco, California. Learn More

| Add to Compare

Saints of New York
$26.95
Coming Soon
By the author of A Quiet Belief in Angels, praised by Michael Connelly as “a beautiful and haunting book,” Saints of New York is a powerful new crime novel. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Zealot
$25.95
Coming Soon
The internationally bestselling author Simon Scarrow is back with the latest entry in the thrilling Roman Legion series—The Zealot. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The History of the Hudson River Valley
$45.00
Coming Soon
In the tradition of Carl Carmer and Alf Evers, the grand, sweeping history of the storied region where America was truly born and the war for independence waged. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Amber Road
$26.95
Available
In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden, the thrilling next installment in Harry Sidebottom’s internationally bestselling Warrior of Rome saga Learn More

| Add to Compare

City of Lies
$26.95
Available
John Harper has just made a discovery: the father he believed to be dead for more than thirty years is alive, though lying in a coma in a Manhattan hospital. Confronted with the reality of his father's existence, Harper finds himself seduced by a lifestyle that he seems to have inherited--an underworld life of power, treachery, and menace. City of Lies is a tense and gripping thriller, each twist and turn more shocking than the last. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The Dove's Necklace
$27.95
Coming Soon
When a dead woman is discovered in Abu Al Roos, one of Mecca's many alleys, no one will claim the body because they are ashamed by her nakedness. As we follow Detective Nassir's investigation of the case, the secret life of the holy city of Mecca is revealed. Learn More

| Add to Compare

The
The Ice-Cold Heaven
$27.95
Available
August 1914. While World War I rears its head across Europe, Sir Ernest Shackleton begins a daring expedition to be the first man to cross the Antarctic on foot. Learn More

| Add to Compare

Freddy the Pilot
$10.99
Available
Who can solve the mystery of Centerboro’s crime-wave? Who can defeat the evil tycoon, Walter P. Condiment? Only Freddy, “that charming ingenious pig” (The New York Times)! Learn More

| Add to Compare

Freddy and the Dragon
$10.99
Available
Who can solve the mystery of Centerboro’s crime-wave? Who can defeat the evil tycoon, Walter P. Condiment? Only Freddy, “that charming ingenious pig” (The New York Times)! Learn More

| Add to Compare

Items 1 to 10 of 380 total Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
 

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.